Study in Henan Agricultural University About Henan Agricultural University & Study in henau

About Henan Agricultural University

Henan Agricultural University (HAU) grew out of Henan Public Agricultural Specialized School, which was founded in 1912. Since then, HAU operated under several different names, including National Zhongshan University, Agronomy Department of Provincial Zhongshan University, Agronomy College of Provincial Henan University and Agronomy College of National Henan University. When the colleges were rearranged nationally in 1952, Agronomy College of Henan University was named Henan Agronomy College, which was moved to Zhengzhou from Kaifeng in 1957. It was renamed as Henan Agricultural University in December, 1984.

HAU now is a comprehensive university with ten branches of learning: agronomy, medicine, science, engineering, arts, economics, management, law and education. The academic work of HAU is organized into twenty colleges: College of Agronomy, College of Forestry, College of Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, College of Mechanical & Electronic Engineering, College of Economics & Management, College of Tobacco, College of Plant Protection, College of Horticulture, College of Rural Development and Management, College of Information & Management Science, College of Life Science, College of Food Scientific Technology, College of Resources & Environment, College of Arts and Law, College of Science, College of Foreign Languages, College of Physical Education, College of International Education, College of Continuing Education. At present, HAU has one first-class discipline authorized to confer doctor’s degree, one national key discipline of first class, two second-class national key disciplines, 34 key provincial and ministerial disciplines, and there are 6 post-doctoral research centers, 28 specialties for Doctoral candidates, 73 specialties for Master candidates and 62 specialties for undergraduates.

There are more than 1813 faculty members, including 11 academicians, over 570 professors and associate professors, 386 of whom have doctor’s degree, four middle-aged and young experts who have made prominent contribution to the country, forty scholars who enjoys special allowance from the State Council. Of this number, three people have been selected into the country’s “Hundred Thousand-10 Thousand-Talents project”, 51 are state-level and provincial level leading experts and 31 are provincial level outstanding experts. Today, the total enrollment grows to more than 16,000 undergraduate students, over 2300 graduate students and more than 4,300 adult education students.

Upholding talent fostering as its primary task, HAU is dedicated to the development of modern agriculture, running the university openly to the world and holding the strategy of sustainable development. It strives to become a center for nurturing entrepreneurial talents in modern agriculture, base for innovation of modern agricultural science and a base for modern high and new agricultural technology. It is committed to become an interdisciplinary university, with life science as its pioneering discipline, agricultural science as its dominant, while teaching and research continue to be its primary purpose.

HAU has established intercollegiate ties with universities in the United States of America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Thailand, The Netherlands and other countries. The university has carried out research work with more than 70 universities, research institutes and enterprises from over 40 countries.

99% students choose us. Thanks for your visiting, welcome! Live Chat